NACU Boyer Award Society

In honor of its 25th anniversary, NACU has created the Boyer Award Society to sustain the legacy of Ernest L. Boyer.

While serving as president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, Ernest Boyer called for a “New American college,” referring to institutions that integrate liberal arts, professional programs, and civic engagement to graduate professionals that are prepared to address society’s social, economic, and cultural challenges. Shortly after that conference, those institutions formed the Associated New American Colleges, now known as the New American Colleges and Universities or NACU.

In 2011, NACU established the prestigious Ernest L. Boyer Award, which is given annually at a national conference to honor Boyer’s impact on American education and to recognize those in higher education who have made significant contributions through their scholarship and leadership. Past recipients of the Boyer Award include: Nancy Cantor, Frederick M. Lawrence, Jose Antonio Bowen, Beverly Daniel Tatum, Cathy N. Davidson, Ira Harkavy, Edward L. Ayers, Carol Geary Schneider, Betsy Barefoot and John Gardner, and Alexander and Helen Astin.

The Boyer Award Society is comprised of institutions that are committed to sustaining Boyer’s legacy. For information on joining the Boyer Award Society, please contact Sean Creighton at

Boyer Award Society Visionary Level

Belmont University
California Lutheran University
Calvin University
Drury University
Elon University
Florida Southern College
Hamline University
Hampton University
John Carroll University
Manhattan College
Merrimack College
Moravian College
Nazareth College
North Central College
Ohio Northern University
Queens University of Charlotte
Roger Williams University
Russell Sage College
St. Edward’s University
Tuskegee University
University of La Verne
University of New Haven
Valparaiso University
Wagner College