NAC&U Board of Directors

The Board of Directors, comprising the presidents of each member institution and the chairs of the Advisory Councils of Chief Academic Officers, Chief Financial Officers (CFOs), and Senior Student Affairs Officers (SSAOs), approves and implements policy and programs related to the mission, governance, fiscal health, membership, reputation and planning of The New American Colleges and Universities; sets the annual budget; and selects and evaluates the President.

Executive Committee:

Chair: Daan Braveman
President, Nazareth College

Chair-Elect: Troy Hammond
President, North Central College

Immediate Past Chair: Vacant

Member At-Large: Fayneese Miller
President, Hamline University

The President is an ex-officio member of the Executive Committee.

Executive Officers:

President: Sean Creighton
President, NAC&U

Vice President: Daan Braveman
President, Nazareth College

Secretary: Devorah Lieberman
President, University of La Verne

Treasurer: Bill Ballard
VP, Financial Affairs, Ohio Northern University

Advisory Councils 

The Advisory Councils advise on and implement policy related to the promotion of best practices in liberal education, including the purposeful and innovative integration of the liberal arts and sciences, professional studies, and civic engagement, curricular, co-curricular, and financial, and plans and oversees related initiatives, e.g., best practice dissemination, professional development programs, off-campus study initiatives, and proposals for new collaboration.

Current Officers:

Chair, Chief Academic Officers: Bill Clyde, Provost, Manhattan College,

Chair, Senior Student Affairs Officers: Ruta Shah-Gordon, Vice President for Internationalization, Intercultural Affairs, and Campus Life, Wagner College,

Chair, Chief Financial Officers: William Ballard, VP Financial Affairs, Ohio Northern University,

Co-Chair, Ambassadors: Assistant Professor of Music Keith Koster, Nazareth College,

Co-Chair, Ambassadors: Associate Professor of English Heidi Laudien, Manhattan College,

Membership Committee 

The New American Colleges and Universities has one standing committee, the Membership Committee. The Membership Committee comprises two presidents appointed by the Chair of the Board of Directors (one of whom will serve as Chair of the Committee) and two provosts appointed by the Chair of the Chief Academic Officers’ Advisory Council.

Current Officers:

Daniel DiBiasio
President, Ohio Northern University
Chris Kimball
President, California Lutheran University
Cheryl Brandsen
Provost, Calvin College
Thomas Burns
Provost, Belmont University
Bill Bisset
VP, Enrollment Management, Manhattan College​

The President is an ex-officio member of the Membership Committee.


Leave a Reply